Scholarships and Awards

There are many unique funding and award opportunities, including college awards, commencement awards and campus scholarships for undergraduate students.

College Awards

With a single application from the Financial Aid and Scholarships Office, you can apply for UC Davis scholarships and awards, including these offered by the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (CA&ES).

Aggie Ambassador of the Year Award

Each year, the Aggie Ambassador organization awards two individuals with the title of Outstanding Ambassadors of the Year. These individuals have gone above the ambassadorial call of duty and have worked hard to make a difference in the organization. They will be a part of our college's history with their name engraved on the perpetual plaque that is displayed in the dean's office lobby in Mrak Hall.

Brad Davis Award

Brad Davis had a lifelong dream of becoming an agricultural instructor. He came to UC Davis in 1982 to study Agricultural Education. During his undergraduate years, Brad was very involved in Block and Bridle, the Little International Stock Show and Alpha Gamma Rho fraternity. Brad was also a member of the Livestock Judging Team that competed throughout the country. One of his favorite activities was the Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Field Day, where he worked on several events and strove to showcase the UC Davis campus to prospective students through their Future Farmers of America (FFA) and 4-H programs.

In 1998, Brad was killed in an automobile accident. He died doing what he loved best–taking a team of FFA students to an after school event. After Brad's death, his parents, Don and Beverly, looked for ways to perpetuate Brad's legacy and set up scholarships and awards through both agricultural and environmental education program and the Alpha Gamma Rho fraternity. A year after these were set up, Beverly and Don returned to campus with a request. The one thing missing from the programs they previously set up was recognition of Brad's passion for the Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Field Day. With the help of Dr. James Leising from agricultural and environmental education, the Brad Norman Davis Award was established in 1989. It is an award presented annually upon the completion of Field Day to the individual whose passion and energy influenced others during the event.

Emil M. Mrak Student Award

Created through a generous gift from the late Graham and Anna Nissen, the Emil M. Mrak Student Award is an excellent opportunity for CA&ES students who may need additional financial aid. Awards range from $1,000 - $5,000 and students may apply annually. For more information, visit the UC Davis Financial Aid and Scholarships website.

CA&ES Commencement Awards

University Medal

The university awards the top graduating senior with the University Medal for excellence in undergraduate studies, outstanding community service and the promise of future scholarship and contributions to society. The University Medal is the  highest campus honor awarded to a graduating senior in recognition of superior scholarship and achievement. 

The award includes a plaque with an inlaid medal and a $2,000 honorarium. 

College Medal/Dean’s Circle Awards 

The College Medal and Dean’s Circle Awards are conferred to outstanding graduating seniors in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences for academic excellence, research activity and service to the campus or community.

The award includes a plaque and a $2000/$1000 respectively honorarium. 

Charles Hess Community Service Awards  

The Charles Hess Community Service Awards arein honor of Dean Emeritus, Charles E. Hess.  These awards are to recognize and encourage more students to become involved in public/community service activities while in college and hopefully help them develop an attitude of wanting to share with others in need.  The intent is to raise the status of being a volunteer within the College and University and then being a volunteer recognized in their community will become a part of their career aspirations. The following are the criteria:

• Graduating Senior with good scholarship and the most noteworthy record of public/community service while at UC Davis
• Demonstrated expertise in and an interest in serving humanity
• Volunteer from the College and University and in their community
• A record of academic excellence

The award includes a plaque and a $2,500 honorarium.

Mary Regan Meyer prize

The Mary Regan Meyer Prize goes to an outstanding graduate in the College who best meets the following criteria:

• Graduating Senior with an outstanding record.
• Demonstrated expertise and an interest in serving humanity.
• Interest and intention to embark on post-baccalaureate graduate or professional level education.
• Broad intellectual interest as indicated in both course work and activities on-and off-campus.

The award includes a plaque and a $1,000 honorarium.

Campus scholarships

With a single application from the Financial Aid and Scholarships Office, you can apply for scholarships and awards, including those offered by the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.

New and Prospective UC Davis Students

When you apply for admission, you are also applying for scholarships. The UC Application for Admission also serves as the scholarship application. No other document is required for Freshman applicants, unless specifically requested to do so. Transfer applicantscan submit aletter of recommendation for additional consideration. Although it is suggested,therecommendation is not required. However, in order to be considered for the Regents Scholarship, transfer applicants must have a minimum 3.8 GPA and must submit a letter of recommendation. Be sure to read all instructions pertaining to scholarships when completing the admission application.

Continuing UC Davis Students

Continuing undergraduates may reapply for UC Davis Scholarships each year. The continuing Undergraduate Scholarship Application is available online in early October, with a deadline in early January. A letter of recommendation is required for all continuing scholarship applicants.