1994 Award of Distinction Recipients

C. William Chandler

William Chandler received a B.S. degree in agricultural production. He is owner/operator of Chandler Farms in Selma, California, producing peaches, plums, nectarines, grapes and almonds. Bill participated in California's Agricultural Leadership Class VI and has provided leadership support for the university's Kearney Agricultural Center and the UC Friends of Agricultural Extension.

Gary Cusumano

A graduate of UC Davis with a B.S. in agricultural economics, Gary Cusumano is president of the Newhall Land and Farming Company. He is a California Agricultural Leadership Program graduate and served on the Agricultural Education Foundation board, as a University of California Regent and as president of the Cal Aggie Alumni Association.

Mike Fitch

Mike Fitch received his B.S. in agricultural business management at UC Davis. In 1982, he worked with the President's Private Sector Survey in Washington, D.C., recommending cost-effective ways to run the USDA's Farmers Home Administration. He served as chair of the college's Dean's Advisory Council from 1989 to 1994. Fitch is a member of Class III of the California Agricultural Leadership Program and vice president of agricultural relations at Wells Fargo Bank.

Charles Hess

Charles Hess was dean of the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences from 1975 to 1989. He participated in the development and funding of the Integrated Pest Management Program, the Sustainable Agriculture Research Education Program and the California Biotechnology Program. He was the campus' first director of International Programs. U.S. presidential appointments include National Science Board vice chair from 1984 to 1988 and USDA assistant secretary of science and education from 1989 to 1991.

Timothy Indart

Timothy Indart received his B.S. in agricultural economics and agricultural production from UC Davis in 1964. Today he runs his own flock of 3,500 breeding ewes and farms citrus and almonds. He is a California Agricultural Leadership Program alumnus and past president of three industry associations: San Joaquin Wool Growers Association, California Wool Growers Association and American Sheep Producers Council. 
He was named California Livestock Man of the Year in 1992.

Harold Kendall

Harold Kendall graduated from UC Davis with a major in animal husbandry and earned an M.B.A. from Harvard Business School. He organized Kendall Management Corporation, which produced citrus, avocado and tropical fruits, and the South Florida Growers Association. To prevent waste, he developed cattle feed from his company's citrus byproducts. Kendall was chair of the UC Davis Foundation from 1987 to 1990.

Sharan Lanini

Sharan Lanini is vice president of Lanini Bros. Farming and an accounts manager for Harris Moran Seed Co. She graduated from UC Davis in 1972 and is a member of California Agricultural Leadership Program Class XVI. She served as past state secretary and state treasurer for the California Ag Production Consultants Association (CAPCA) and as California Women for Agriculture (CWA) state president and first vice president.

Peggy Sears McLaughlin

Peggy McLaughlin graduated from UC Davis with a B.S. in plant science and a M.S. in horticulture. She taught classes in ornamental horticulture and advised students at Cal Poly Pomona College of Agriculture and also served as acting dean. McLaughlin was one of the first women accepted in the California Agricultural Leadership Program. In 1983, she received the UC Davis Young Alumna-of-the-Year Award.

Frank Parsons

For almost 40 years, Frank Parsons managed the UC Davis seed certification center, which today bears his name. His procedure for collecting certified seed research fees benefits the UC system for seed variety development, testing and basic research. The Parsons Seed Certification Center has achieved worldwide recognition for providing high-quality seeds for California agriculture. Parsons also helped form the California Crop Improvement Association.